Embracing Renewal

Why Burning Dead Wood Fuels Transformation

Embracing Renewal: Why Burning Dead Wood Fuels Transformation

I had the opportunity to interview John Lawyer (Listen Here) in last week's episode of EZ Conversations. John shared his journey of being dispatched to Afghanistan, Iraq, and Kuwait during his career with the U.S. Military in counterterrorism and being part of the "machine," as he said. John and I explored the impact of war and how everyone loses. John then shared how, when he finally returned home, he battled the addiction of war and finally found his purpose of spiritual growth and bringing others along. But he had to shed his past self and beliefs to experience that transformation. As I sat in reflection, what came to me was the impact of how we can get conditioned in the environments we grow up in. We can form certain beliefs, opinions and views that limit our growth. But that's the journey of life, to shed those layers, burn the dead wood, and shake off the dead leaves, so to speak. That is how we grow.

As I mentioned last week, I have had the opportunity to reflect more because of the much-needed quiet time I needed while on vacation (Last week being in Portugal). Fortunately, many things have come to the forefront while exploring different places. I thought about some of the figurative dead weight I have been carrying, such as aspects of my personality and behaviours and even people in my life that may not be serving me. One of the things I have focused on in 2024 is my relationship with social media. When I first started creating content on mental health and the podcast, I spent significant time trying to grow my social media, especially Instagram. Part of me thought I could bring in clients through social media and impact people by working with them, but a larger part wanted to inflate my ego. A specific following would give me status on social media, similar to those who had inspired me to start a podcast. However, over time, I became someone who did not align with who I wanted to be. There was a constant internal conflict, and the issue of wearing masks came into play. I struggled to reconcile the two conflicting views of myself, which were very similar to what John and I discussed in the episode about the military complex.

Preparing for 2024, I intentionally focused on things that were serving my personal growth and how I wanted to embody the individual I wanted to become. The aspect of growth is an ongoing battle we must face every day. We must be our biggest ally when we feel we fell short and avoid the shame cycle from creeping in. That is how I have started to improve my relationship with social media and focus on the things I enjoy. I have started to put out content that I enjoy working on, and only when I feel like it. I have started to work on more long-form content, which allows me to express myself creatively, and I have started to engage in more meaningful conversations for the podcast. At the mid-point of the year, I will do another audit and see how I feel about some of these actions. I am starting to feel more aligned and not slipping into the comparison mindset as much as I was. It's still a journey, and I am still figuring it out.

Therefore, In this week's edition of EZ Reflections, I wanted to share my journey of trying to burn off the dead wood holding me back. I am grateful for my conversation with John Lawyer on the podcast, which allowed me to dig deeper. But I also wanted to share this with my audience and give you all something to consider. As I mentioned, these behaviours, beliefs, aspects of our personalities, and even people in our lives can creep in the background and not allow us to fully realize our potential. Society also enables us to become comfortable in who we are, or sometimes we get conditioned early in our lives to have certain beliefs, or we place ourselves in environments and around people that reinforce these beliefs and behaviours. To fully grow, we must do the hard things and face the discomfort, that goes without saying. I hope you all reflect on things likely holding you back and how shedding these things can help with your transformation. I have also shared some resources that could help. Benefits of shedding layers:

  • Freedom from Limiting Beliefs: Eckhart Tolle, in "The Power of Now," emphasizes that shedding layers liberates us from the grip of limiting beliefs, enabling us to embrace the present moment fully.

  • Cultivating Authenticity: Forbes highlights how shedding layers fosters authenticity by stripping away societal masks, enabling genuine connections with others and ourselves.

  • Emotional Liberation: Psychology Today underscores the emotional liberation that accompanies shedding layers. It liberates us from the weight of past traumas and emotional baggage, allowing for healing and growth.

  • Promoting Resilience: We cultivate resilience by shedding layers and learning to adapt to change and navigate life's challenges more easily.

What can we do once we decide to make these transformations:

  1. Creating Space for New Beginnings: Just as a forest fire clears the way for new growth, burning dead wood creates space for fresh opportunities and experiences to enter our lives.

  2. Letting Go of Attachment: Attachment to possessions, relationships, or past experiences can hold us back from embracing the present moment. Burning dead wood helps us release attachment and live more mindfully.

  3. Encouraging Renewal: Like the phoenix rising from the ashes, burning dead wood symbolizes transformation and renewal. It signifies letting go of the old to make room for the new, fostering personal evolution.

  4. Fostering Self-Reflection: Burning dead wood invites self-reflection, prompting us to evaluate what truly matters and align our actions with our values and goals.

Sources:

  • "The Power of Now" by Eckhart Tolle

  • "Why Letting Go of Dead Weight is Crucial for Success" (Forbes)

  • "The Science of Letting Go: How to Start and Stay Committed to the Process" (Psychology Today)

  • "Letting Go of the Past: A Meta-Analysis of Experiments Testing the Effectiveness of Interventions to Reduce the Impact of Prior Sunk-Costs" (Journal of Applied Psychology)

Reflecting while on vacation:

A snippet of the Episode

Head to YouTube for the full episode. Or Subscribe below:

What people are saying about the podcast:

Quote of the Week:

“Be like a tree and let the dead leaves drop.”

Rumi

Sponsors

WeShape: ⁠⁠

WeShape believes that because we’re unique, our workouts should be too.

Their technology personalizes every exercise in real time based on the individual’s feedback during the workout. Their workouts are based on science and biomechanics. Better programming means working out smarter, not harder. You can go to the link below and take a quiz to personalize your workout today.

We Are Wild for 25% off your first order: ⁠⁠⁠https://zen.ai/EZ23⁠⁠

Four Sigmatic for 10% of your order use code: “EZCONVERSATIONS” at checkout.

Would you like to work with me?

Book a 1:1 Call with me! I am taking on new clients in April and offering a free consultation.

Join the next cohort for the Renewed Resilience Course:

Subscribe to the Podcast and Newsletter

Join the conversation

or to participate.